Marathon #8

Yikes! Did I really just say that?!?

Roughly around 2005, I went running with 2 amazing women.  One was a runner and has run numerous marathons and has a few Bostons under her belt.  The other is the epitomy of being healthy and active and is the cutest thing ever.  Anyhow…  we went on a morning jog and I was not excited.  I just went because I wanted to spend time with them, but I didn’t care much about running.  About 15 minutes into our run, we hit a construction zone that smelled of Tar.  You know that smell that you can barely breathe of Tar?  Well I saw that as my way out. Score! I quickly said I couldn’t breathe and just had to turn around.  I remember their faces like it was yesterday.  They were so confused and I know they were disappointed that I gave up so quickly.

After I had Joey in 2006, I wanted to lose weight and feel better about myself.  Very determinedly I went up to Kevin and told him that I was going to start running and that I was going to run a marathon.  He laughed. Like literally. Like LOL laughed.  “You have no idea how hard running a marathon is.  Do you know how far a marathon is?  I don’t think you can do it.”  I got up to 4 miles, then I got pregnant with Emma.  Oh well…

We moved to Maryland. I had Emma in 2008.  My sweet friend was very helpful during my bed rest and after I had Emma she offered to help me get into running and would help me train.  I told Kevin that I WAS going to train for a Marathon.  I knew how far it was, and I was going to do it. He had strict instructions to support me, to push me out of bed despite me hitting the snooze button, and to be there for me when I crossed to finish line.  He agreed. I am sure he had his speculations, but bless his heart, he did not express any.

One year later, Marathon #1 was in the books.

This was taken with First Generation iPhone. Wow!

This was taken with First Generation iPhone. Wow!

16 races, 3 moves, 2 deployments, and 1 more child later, I am training for Marathon #8.  Many have done 10, 20, and lots more.  But 8 to me.  I just can’t believe it.  I am grateful to be able to push myself a little farther.

I don’t know what I hope to accomplish with this blog.  I have tried for Boston 3x! Yup, 3x. And have gotten so close but…nope. Didn’t do it. #8 will be my 4th attempt. So maybe having this blog will help me be a little more accountable. Maybe it will help me go back and review what worked and what didn’t.  But most importantly, I hope it will inspire YOU to push yourself a little farther in whatever you wish to accomplish.  And whether its your 1st attempt, 4th or 10th, DON’T YOU EVER GIVE UP!!!

Leave a Reply

