Rest Day

unnamed

This time around I chose a training plan (Run Farther, Run Faster) that has me running 3x a week and Cross-Training 2x a week.  That leaves me 2 days to rest, re-group, and look forward to getting back out there.

As a member of the Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-day Saints, I was taught at a very young age to keep the Sabbath day holy.  But being married to an Anesthesia Resident, I have learned to run when the opportunity arises.  And more often than not, that is on a beautiful Sunday morning when my family is all home, I have a few hours before church, and its me, the pavement, and my reflections on the blessings I have received.  Sounds so magical and perfect.  It really is. But as I have gotten injured or not met my race goals, I have often asked myself, “Am I doing all that I can to reach my goals?” I am logging the miles, I am doing the strength training, I am resting when I should, I TRY to eat right.  What else can I do?  Then a dear friend advised me to have my rest day truly be on Sunday.  Wait? What?!?  Did she not realize that’s one of the only day’s Kevin is home after the sun rises? But as I thought about it more and more, the scripture on 2 Nephi 25:23 came to mind, and I was reminded that I can receive the Lord’s grace, AFTER all we can do.

Now the scripture was referring to the Lord’s saving grace, but can’t we apply the scriptures and its counsel to all aspects of our lives? If I study hard for my test, get the rest I need for my mind, sharpen the saw, say my prayers, the Lord will help me remember my answers.  If I work hard at my job, am on time, honest with my employer, prove my worth, eventually I will be eligible for a promotion/raise. There are so many aspects of life that we can apply the Lord’s grace in. Sometimes we do all that we can and the outcome is not exactly what we had in mind, but at least we know we tried, were obedient, and allowed the Lord’s will to be done.

So what have I done to allow Sundays to be my day of rest?

  • A great young adult from my congregation graciously accepted a job to watch my children on Saturday mornings so I can do my long runs.  That has helped a lot to know that this person was willing to be at my home bright and early so I can accomplish my goals.
  • I run Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays.  That’s it.  Kinda scary to not be logging 60+ miles. But its really nice 😉 I get out there, work hard, then I am done.
  • I try to read my scriptures before I run.  But if I can’t then I at least pray.  I pray that my children will be safe while I am gone.  I pray for the Lord’s grace.  Maybe this is sacreligous, but I ask the Lord to bless my efforts in keeping the Sabbath Day holy by allowing my weekly runs to be quality work.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t and I fall flat on my face.  But I tried.  And that is all He asks of us- “…after all we can do.”
  • I hang up all my monitors: Heart Rate, FitBit, Garmin, Fitness Pal, etc! Calories don’t count today.  The most steps I take on a Sunday are a whopping 2,500 IF THAT! But they are all charging ready for me to take them out for a spin on Monday morning.
  • I go to church. I spend 3 hours at church learning more about the Savior’s grace.  I teach the cutest, I mean, the cutest bunch of 6/7 year olds about the Savior’s grace. And we strive to apply that grace into our lives.
  • Index, I scrapbook, we have friends over for dinner, play games together as a family, make yummy dinners, watch a family show, face-time with family: pretty much anything that makes my heart happy.

Now please understand that I am NOT, I repeat, I am NOT judging anyone for the activities anyone chooses to do on Sunday.  This is MY choice, a decision I made all by myself, and something I expect only of myself and my immediate family.  My race is still on a Sunday. But I try to not train on a Sunday because that is something that I can control.  I do have to say, I can see the blessings in my life.  Like I said earlier, my family is all here on Sunday, so it makes my heart happy that I am here too. I am not getting home an hour before church hurrying to make them lunch, get ready, and rush out the door.  I can wait for them to wake up and we can be together.  My pace has improved, injury-free (knock-on wood), I can go on, but my heart is happy and that’s what matters more to me than any BQ I could be going after.

I am grateful for Sundays.  They truly are the #bestday.  Best day to be with family and the ones we love.  The best day the Lord could have chosen where we rest from our burdens. As President Nelson said: “…the Sabbath was His gift to us, granting real respite from the rigors of daily life and an opportunity for spiritual and physical renewal.” I hope you too can enjoy this gift and share it with others.

Sincerely,

Doorly

Leave a comment